• Artful
  • Posts
  • I've Made 4 Plans in the Last 24 Months and All Failed. Here's What I Learned.

I've Made 4 Plans in the Last 24 Months and All Failed. Here's What I Learned.

For as long as I can remember, I was always OBSESSED with success, entrepreneurship, and just “making it” whatever the hell that means. My life was a complete disaster from every angle, except for my unbreakable will and my gift as an artist.

Through all this, I thought that having a plan would save me. “You only need a plan” "Set a plan up, and you’ll leave this living hell” “No one achieved greatness by accident”. Those were all my thoughts at the time.

I sat down with huge motivation and a massive range and started writing. Goals, dreams, what I like to do, what I don't like to do, I feel like doing, what I don’t feel like doing, what I should do either way.. etc. and finally after a long session of brain burning that I made a “plan”

And I am here to tell you, that I failed. And yes, I failed 4 times.

Drowning -2022

Here’s what I learned:

  1. Flexibility is key: One of the most important lessons I've learned is that you need to be flexible. Plans are meant to guide us, and for the longest time, all my thoughts were that my plans should be set in stone, when in reality they are not. Life is unpredictable, and circumstances can change in an instant. It's essential to adapt and adjust our plans accordingly. Instead of becoming disheartened when things don't go as expected, we should embrace the opportunity to explore new paths and find alternative solutions.

  2. Failure is not the end: Each failed plan felt like a major setback at the time, and there is nothing worse than feeling like a failure all the time, but I've come to realize that failure is not the end. It's merely a stepping stone on the path to success. Failure provides us with valuable insights, highlights areas where we need to improve, and strengthens our resilience. And in my case, all I did was ignore them. I was stupidly stubborn and believed that I didn't need to change and that my plan was perfect. In reality, it was the furthest thing from perfect that I knew.

  3. Reflect and reassess: After experiencing multiple failures, I understood the importance of reflection and reassessment. It's crucial to take a step back, evaluate the reasons behind the failure, and identify areas that need improvement. Honest self-reflection allows us to identify our weaknesses, biases, and blind spots. By reassessing our plans, we can make more informed decisions and adjust our strategies accordingly.

  4. Patience and perseverance: Making plans can be exciting, but achieving success often takes time. It's essential to cultivate patience and perseverance along the way. Rome wasn't built in a day, and neither will our dreams. Despite facing repeated failures, it's crucial to keep going and maintain a positive mindset. Success rarely comes easily, but with persistence and determination, we can overcome obstacles and eventually achieve our goals.

  5. Seek support and feedback: Personally, I never wanted to play in teams, It always felt better doing things alone, as most people never understood my point of view or my mindset. And if you have the same belief, I’m here to tell you that you’re simply in the wrong spot. There are people who view the world EXACTLY as YOU do, you just need to find them. You don't have to navigate the journey alone. Seeking support from others can provide us with fresh perspectives, advice, and encouragement. Sharing our plans and seeking feedback can help us identify blind spots and potential pitfalls. The input of others can be invaluable in refining our strategies and making more informed decisions. Additionally, having a support system during challenging times can provide the motivation and strength to keep going, which I never had.

  6. Be self-aware: Give yourself 10 minutes, look at yourself, who are you, what do you have, what are you best at, what does the world need from you, what do you lack, what areas of your life do you need to enhance. Understand that you need resources, connections most of all. I had no connections, no money AT ALL, no experience, didn't have the right mindset, and I wanted to conquer the world. As a result, I failed 4 times, got up 5.

Obsesses over learning, getting better, and improving. Failure is not the end of the road, it's an opportunity for growth and self-improvement. Despite making four failed plans in the last 24 months, I've learned valuable lessons that have shaped my perspective on success. Flexibility, resilience, reflection, patience, seeking support, and embracing the journey are all key elements in navigating setbacks and turning them into stepping stones toward future accomplishments. So, don't be discouraged by failure but rather embrace it as a necessary part of the process. Keep learning, keep adapting, and keep moving forward towards your goals.

Thank you for reading this blog post. If you found the information helpful and want to stay up-to-date with my latest thoughts on career development, be sure to follow me on Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter. Don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or comments. I look forward to connecting with you!

Join the conversation

or to participate.